DOCTOR MA BABY SWIMMING!

16 08 2010

Oh Beijing, I hate to admit it, but you’re growing on me. It’s a city that I don’t think you can immediately fall in love with. Paris has the soft lights and romantic notions. And there’s something about fall in New York. But Beijing is smoggy, its crowded, and I’m pretty sure that all my neighbors can see me showering during the day. But its a city with a whole lot of character.

By 2025, over three hundred million migrant workers will have moved from the rural countrysides of China to large urban metropolises (roughly the population of the United States). This place is bursting at the seams with colorful people from differing provinces and various Chinese minority groups. The constant stream of people can be claustrophobic… but when things do slow down, there have been few things as enjoyable as skewers of roasted meats, cold beer(s), and precarious bike rides through ancient Beijing back alleys.

The revolving door of visiting friends has finally seemed to stopped. I’ve been lucky enough to meet a handful of good friends already, some old, most new, and the idea of spending multiple years here becomes less and less daunting. The contingency of Ben Roth, Lucy Brady, and myself have already begun planning a myriad of weekend trips. First up? Woodstock at the Great Wall?!

Anyway, I still miss home. And family. And friends. And to a lesser degree, Yale. Robert just started his first week at college, and here’s wishing you the best buddy. Only one picture today, and I know its a little too easy…

but Doctor Ma(h) Baby Swimming! Until next time.

phillip

Actions

Information

3 responses

17 08 2010
dliang

Beijing has over-the-top chinglish t-shirts. NYC and Paris aren’t on BJ’s level.

20 08 2010
erinreiss

ma baby

21 12 2010
Finlanren

it is true, I was not immeadetly in love with Beijing, but now having lived 4 months in Beijing, I learned to love it a lot and also Chinese culture. Too bad I cannot find a job, so I am back in Europe, but at least I’ve got a lot of Chinese things here.

Leave a Reply

