As a rule of thumb, I don’t eat baby insects.

9 08 2010

Oh, and its here. The post that many of you have been waiting ever so patiently for. The first of many… the food post. Yes, I went to the Forbidden City this weekend. And two of my best friends are visiting from Japan this week. But those things can wait a little. Because its FOOD POST.

The other night, I had my first officially great meal in my time here. Apparently, most of the provinces in China have representative offices here in Beijing, and in those offices, they have restaurants serving authentic provincial cuisines. Word on the street is that the two worth going to are Sichuan (dry spicy spicy), and Yunnan (exotic mushrooms and southeast Asian influenced spicy). Accompanied by a bevy of coworkers, we made our way to the latter.

Honestly amazing. They have mushrooms flown in from Yunnan every other day, and they are honestly some of the most amazing fungi I have ever seen. Button mushrooms, golden mushrooms, black earwood mushrooms, oyster mushrooms, and morels. There was a honeysuckle elderberry salad, eel cooked in a log full of sticky rice, spicy beef tendons and bamboo shoots, and of course, mealworms. It was either that or bee pupae. And you know my feelings towards eating baby insects.

Not but a few days later, we decided to make a nice and early trip to the antique and arts and crafts market here in Beijing. On our way there, we passed by a small narrow alley just teeming with people, so being the adventurous souls that we are, we fought our way through street vendors, sandal peddlers, and pools of dirty stagnant puddles of trash water to find this.

The largest open air food market I had ever seen in my entire life. It was unbelievable. Overwhelming. The smells, ruckus, the bright colors of every imaginable fruit. It was a sensory overload. And of course, sitting in the heart of the market, the mighty and formidable durian. Some are impervious to its powers, but at its best, the fruit has been described to me as the most disgusting, foul tasting thing you could ever imagine. At its worst, it has been said to smell like rotting human flesh. The verdict? Yeah, it tasted horrible. And yes, it did smell like rotting human flesh (not that I’ve smelled rotting human flesh before, but you can only imagine…)

I like the idea of posting mp3’s on here, and sharing some of the stuff that’s been on rotation in my head. Here’s to reminding us that You Are Not a Robot. Until next time.

phillip

Actions

Information

4 responses

9 08 2010
claire g

i can’t smell durian fruit. i lack the appropriate genes.

15 08 2010
amy

I almost vommed at those worms. I had to grow some for science long ago.

21 12 2010
Finlanren

about that worm comment.
hmm, I have been borned and raised in a country where even dried Spanish jamon serrano is considered grose and this applies to so many other food products from Europe and the States. However, I have eaten some sort grilled bug in a stick in Beijing, and I can tell you, it is not eaten because of some weird reasons. It is eaten because it is delicous and healthy. Worms I have yet to try, or maybe I did, it just didn’t struck me as good nor bad.

21 12 2010
Finlanren

if you are looking for good food Philip of Beijing, you must try those red 杨梅 (pinyin: yángméi; chinese bayberries) served sugar-coated on a stick in the street. Also the authentic bulgogi in a korean restaurant. But I guess this you are already familiar with.

And the Chinese equivalent of Yakult, which is so much better.

And hawthorne sweets, ah, I could make a long list of things I would like to eat, but cannot quite find in Western countries

Leave a Reply

