Touchdown in Beijingtown

29 07 2010

So after 20 hrs. of travel, yours truly is finally in the heart of Chinasty. The flight over was fairly uneventful, had an entire row to myself to sleep on. Watched a Zac Effron movie. Needless to say, I already miss the comforts of home and the family. Below is a picture that should’ve been taken months ago, but was put off until hours before I left.


Also, skymall has pointed me to my next christmas present. 8 ft. tall Anubis statue? Yes please.

I arrived here close to 11:30 in the evening. In someways, China is like Texas with things being on an unnecessarily large scale. I had to take a commuter train from my gate to the baggage claim in the airport. Even at 1 in the morning, you get the overwhelming sense that this a huge fucking city.

For the next month at least, I will be staying in the apartment of a friend of a friend. Everyone has been extremely nice in helping me settle in, but have you ever had a 80 year old roommate? Another check off the bucket list. He was asleep by the time I got in, but rest assured, there will be plenty of wild times and all night ragers thrown here…

As of now, my digs. Simple, i know. But you what you can’t see is the calendar of Chinese calligraphy depicting two squirrels fighting over a nut. From 2008. Bachelor pad much? That and they were nice enough to lay down some bamboo bed slats, because you know, its 105 degrees here in Beijing.

I suppose that’s all for now. Jetlag is kicking my ass, but no worries. I have a date with some duty free Chivas Regal to help me with that. Also, for those interested, my China cell phone number is 13520092810, just in case any of you happen to be in Beijing or want to make a long distance skype call. Until next time.

Phillip

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

